Feng Shui and Your Zodiac Sign

The Eight Trigrams of the I Ching

In the I Ching, or Book of Change, there are said to be eight different energies. Each one has a trigram, which is a distinguishing figure made up of three lines stacked vertically on top of one another. Each line is either solid or broken. Solid lines are yang lines, which are associated with firmness, directness, and the initiation of action. Broken lines are yin lines, which are associated with softness, shifting vectors, and the reception of action. Yang is seen as masculine, while yin is seen as feminine, but neither is any better than the other. Rather, they are complements to one another.

Each trigram represents a different element, and each element has its polar opposite. The eight trigrams are Heaven and Earth, Fire and Water, Thunder and Wind, and Mountain and Lake. It is said that all things in life can be interpreted as one of these energies interacting with another energy, which may or may not be another instance of that same trigram. Given that there are eight elements with eight possible interactions for each one, this yields 64 possible interactions, which are displayed as two trigrams atop one another. This arrangement is known as a hexagram.

Read More »

Related Articles

Back to top button


Get a daily email of trending news and updates. Be the first to see top stories and events.